Renew a Teaching Certificate in PA
(not a Pennsylvania teacher, click here to find your state)
How do I keep and renew a teaching certificate in Pennsylvania and comply with Act 48?
Teachers use online professional development and continuing education courses to renew a teaching certificate in PA. All certified Pennsylvania educators must complete Act 48 PD hours:
- 180 hours of professional development every five years or
- six credits of collegiate study from a regionally accredited university every five years
Pennsylvania teachers should get PRE-APPROVAL from their employing Pennsylvania Public School District (the approved provider) or Private School (if an approved provider) to use Professional Learning Board courses for Act 48 Hours.
What state requirements does a teacher in PA need to convert a Level I Certificate to a Level II Certificate?
Level I Pennsylvania instructional and education specialist certificates are valid for 6 years of service, not calendar years. According to the Pennsylvania Department of Education, Level I PA teachers must complete 24 semester-hour graduate credits from a regionally accredited university to qualify for Level II certification.
How do I get free Act 48 hours for teachers in Pennsylvania?
Looking for online continuing education and staff development for schools or districts? Check out 100% online PD at ConnectedPD.com!
How do I contact the PA Department of Education?
Contact the Pennsylvania Department of Education
333 Market Street
Harrisburg, PA 17126
Disclaimer: Please ensure the information and courses meet requirements for your teaching certificate and circumstances and align with what your state Department of Education requires. The new continuing education information and courses listed on this page are current as of April 5th, 2021 to meet the best information available. State licensing requirements and school district approval processes may change and it is your responsibility as a licensed or certified teacher to know your state certification renewal requirements and the process for submission and approval of all professional and staff development hours for renewing a license, licensing and certificate renewal and expired or lapsed certification. Professional Learning Board can not guarantee acceptance by your school, district, state Department of Education or licensing authority.